REVIEWS

See what my clients and book reviewers have to say.

Navigating the Nonprofit Rapids: Strategies and Tactics for Running a Nonprofit Company

Amazon Reviews of Navigating the Nonprofit Rapids: Strategies and Tactics for Running a Nonprofit Company by  Ted Edlich  (4.9 average out of 5 stars)

 

5.0 out of 5 starsI enjoyed reading this book

ByJohn A. Wilson on June 13, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I enjoyed reading this book. It provides an overview of the elements required to manage a nonprofit organization. Ted Edlich has written an excellent guide one can follow to become a better nonprofit leader and be an effective change agent. Well organized, philosophy and management theories are backed by practical and successful examples from the author's own life experiences. The text flows, the style is very readable style and I found each chapter stimulated my interest to read the next. An excellent book for new nonprofit leaders, mid-managers and members of boards of directors. The examples provided show what is possible in creating positive change in communities and encourages following through on vision as well suggesting good administration techniques.

Great book for any nonprofit professional

ByAmazon Customer on April 25, 2016

Format: Paperback

Although intended for nonprofit leaders, Navigating the Nonprofit Rapids: Strategies and Tactics for Running a Nonprofit Company is a great read for any nonprofit employee and for any individual in a leadership position.

Navigating the Nonprofit Rapids tackles a perplexing question – ‘how can you lead a nonprofit to success?’ Author Ted Edlich takes an accessible approach that combines frank advice with case studies, academic findings, and entertaining personal anecdotes. Mr. Edlich applies his decades of experience leading a successful community action agency, Total Action for Progress, to discuss topics such as leadership, board development, strategic planning, economic accountability, staff motivation, organizational culture, and all-important stress management. Each chapter concludes with a series of tough questions to keep you and your agency on track for success.

As a young professional in the nonprofit sector, I encounter challenging situations daily that leave me wondering if I have what it takes to weather the ‘rapids’ of this industry. It’s inspiring to see a nonprofit leader lay bare his full experience – both the successes and the failures – to illustrate his agency’s journey. He shows that leadership isn’t always smooth sailing, yet rough weather can be an opportunity for growth. This frank discussion of nonprofit management paints a fascinating, and realistic, portrait of what it takes to build an agency that has lasting impact.

I definitely recommend Navigating the Nonprofit Rapids: Strategies and Tactics for Running a Nonprofit Company for any individual who wants to refine their professional leadership skills and better see the ‘big picture’ of nonprofit management.

Great read from an author and visionary leader

ByAmazon Customer on June 18, 2016

Format: Paperback

A great read from an author and visionary leader with a wealth of knowledge and experience in the world of nonprofits. This book will be a valuable resource for anyone in leadership or for leaders in training, as well as for those who work within or with nonprofit organizations. Ted Edlich offers such wisdom and captivating experiences of his journey; one he shares with us. The pages are steeped in practical guidance, lessons learned, and handy "takeaways", making the strategies immediately available. Ted Edlich describes, in rich detail, strategies for addressing stress and burnout and practices that can support health and well-being, and shares his personal journey with us. And mostly, this book is inspirational. As Ted Edlich writes, "the work itself is a great source of joy...there is nothing like making a huge difference in someone's life". This book will touch many lives, and will benefit our communities.

I enjoyed this book and also learning about Ted Edlich the ...

BySAS on April 13, 2016

Format: Paperback

I enjoyed this book and also learning about Ted Edlich the person as well as Ted the social entrepreneur.
The book has merit not only for nonprofits but for any business entrepreneur - so much is applicable to business strategic planning – I know, I owned a manufacturing company for more than 30 years that had partnerships with Taiwan, Japan and the UK! Loved the surfing analogy in Chapter 2. Chapter 10 reminded me of another terrific business book “Customer Centered Re-Engineering - who is your customer - we often forget who we are serving whether we are nonprofit or for profit.
Chapter 11 – collaboration. Nonprofits have to engage in more joint ventures, partnerships and alliances which are so necessary in today’s challenging economic times. If you don’t have a trusting culture you wont have an organization comfortable with alliances.

A Comprehensive Primer for Nonprofit Leadership - Warm, Engaging, Stimulating!

By John Netzel on May 31, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

First-class! Ted Edlich has breathed a lifetime of service and wisdom into an inspirational guide for nonprofit leadership. A consummate story teller, Ted blends a treasure trove of best practices with endearing profiles of coworkers who share his spirit of courage, perseverance and dedication to improving the lives of others. “Navigating The Nonprofit Rapids” is a must read, not just for the nonprofit sector, but for anyone in leadership. Well done!

Important read for the private and nonprofit sectors

By Sarah Gatrell on April 20, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This book is a great read for anyone in the nonprofit or for profit industry. Good leadership is key to success, no matter what sector you are in, and this book lays the groundwork for developing this and excellent organizational culture.

Great Book for Novice or Veteran of the Nonprofit World!

By mark Q. emick sr. on May 25, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Excellent study text or just easy reading. Certainly more than just a "how to book", the author offers guidance and directions gleaned, not from dry research, but from his life's work. I'd recommend this work to those currently working in the nonprofit world, or for those who might wish to gain insight and understanding of a fascinating subject!

Awesome read.

By Amazon Customer on April 25, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I found this book to be interesting, full of useful information and applicable to any organization. The experiences he shared and the way he shared them kept me interested throughout the entire read. I believe this book is valuable to any person in a leadership role or seeking to be in a leadership role. Can't wait for the next book.

made for easy reading; recommend it for new and seasoned directors

By Wayne D. P. Knox on July 6, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

The writing was clear and to the point; made for easy reading; recommend it for new and seasoned directors, along with board of directors.

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars

By Charles Withers on May 12, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

The clarity that only someone who's dedicated their life to non profit can bring.

© 2023 by Ted Edlich Consulting. Proudly created with Wix.com